Getting into a car and going for a drive isn’t perfectly safe. Driving on the Michigan roads can be dangerous. Driving those same roads becomes financially dangerous if you drive without car insurance. Between fees, charges, and possible license suspensions, driving without insurance can bring you and your wallet a world of hurt. These penalties only get worse if you are in an accident.
This article is all about what happens if you drive in the state of Michigan without proof of auto insurance.
Penalties from the Michigan Secretary of State
Let’s start with some good news. There used to be a driver’s responsibility fee of $200 for not providing proof of current car insurance. Michigan got rid of this fee in October of 2012. However, there are still consequences if you get caught driving without insurance. Some of these penalties include:
- Your license plate could be canceled
- Your license could be suspended
- You could get a $50 fee as well as other associated fees.
Penalties from Michigan Insurance Providers
Michigan has a no-fault insurance law. This no-fault policy basically means that your car insurance coverage will pay you to cover medical treatment and any losses for a car accident, no matter who caused the crash.
The law in this state requires all licensed drivers to have an insurance policy at the state minimum level. Car insurance providers pounce on this opportunity. They want to see their customers have previous insurance history before creating a new policy for you. If you cannot provide proof of a previous car insurance policy, insurers may charge you more for:
- Being a high-risk driver for six months
- Deny you coverage from some carriers
Many insurers will give you a surcharge if you were caught driving without proof of insurance.
Additional Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Michigan
There are several other penalties for driving without proof of insurance in Michigan. Some of these penalties include:
- Having to pay for victims’ medical bills and lost wages
- Being unable to sue for pain and suffering damages
- Needing to pay your own medical bills
- Not getting refunds for lost wages
- Must pay for vehicle damage
- Sentenced to jail and ordered to pay a fee totaling between $200 and $500
Choosing an Attorney who understands Michigan Insurance Requirements
Michigan laws surrounding car insurance are some of the most unique in the country. Due to the additional fees and requirements, it is no wonder that as many as 20% of Michigan drivers do not have insurance. If you get charged with failure to provide car insurance, call the trusted attorneys at Aldrich Legal Services. Our team of experts have helped defend Michigan drivers for over 21 years.